Caferağa Medresesi ( Soğuk Kuyu Medresesi )
This religious school, built by Sinan, was founded by Cafer Ağa in 1559. Seen here in a decrepit state, it was restored in1989 and is now a tourist attraction, with workshops and exhibitions showcasing Turkish handicrafts. Entered off Caferiye Sokağı.
This view, from Alemdar Caddesi, is of the rear of the building. In the background one of the minarets of Haghia Sophia.
bvw photos ...
Encoding - Unicode UTF 8
Copyright © 2011-2018 Brian Williams - All Rights Reserved